Some fashion photography and blog love

This week photographer Erik Madigan Heck caught my eye with his photography of Mary Katrantzou’s designs for Nomenus Quarterly (the world’s most expensive magazine).  It’s a stunning photograph of a beautiful dress but generally Mary Katratzou is a little unwearable for me.  Too garish and too Versace like for my taste – Elton John would probably feel at home in her crazy mixture of patterns and colours.  I was going to post a photo of the Versace like element to her clothes but I can’t bring myself to put the photo up as it goes against my aesthetic sensibilities. But click here if you want to see it. Mary Katrantzou has now done her second capsule collection for Topshop which does has some lovely moulded silhouettes but probably looks better on the runway than in real life.

I came across a great blog called The Selby which shows an insider’s view of creative individuals in their personal spaces with an artist’s eye for detail. I love looking at interiors but get bored of looking at interiors with no personality. This is a blog dedicated to interiors with lots of personality.  The post on Alexander Wang caught my eye.  I love his clothes and his taste in interior design. Speaking of Alexander Wang, he does a luxury casual line which is great for yoga or Pilates classes and if you go to the third floor in Selfridges you will find a whole section of casual apparel suitable for yoga and Pilates. Lots of fashion forward items like knitted tracksuit pants and cashmere tops along with a good selection of ultra soft Wildfox Couture vintage type t-shirts.

Below is Alexander Wang in his New York office and the a photo of what must be the Alexander Wang staff, all wearing beautiful shoes and then a photo he has of Kate Moss by Juergen Teller.

And finally my head was turned by a beautiful food blog called Eat Boutique.  Eat Boutique are lovers of food who nurture deep relationships by celebrating and sharing the finest in local, pure and comforting handmade food. I love the layout of the blog and the quality of interesting photography along with well written posts.  I particularly liked the Mini Guide – Eat Boutique Paris. They also sell lovely food gift boxes something of which I would love to receive.

2 comments
  1. Harriet said:

    These photos are exquisite! The foodie ones especially, I have tried to photograph food and it is *hard*!

  2. Thanks so much for the love on your site, I really appreciate it! Someone should totally send you one of our gift boxes – tell me!

    Glad you like the photos too, Harriet. :-)

Leave a Reply

